Skip to main content

    Chakras And Their Swirling Energies

    "There is deep wisdom with our very flesh, if we can only come to our senses and feel it." Elizabeth A. Behnke


    The Sanskrit word, "Chakra" literally translates to wheel or disk. in yoga, meditation and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body.There are seven main chakras which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of nergy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called "Prana," is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive.

    These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. The seven main chakras contain bundles of nerves and major organs, as well as our psychological, emotional and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it's essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow. Keeping a chakra open ccan be a bit of a challenge, but not if you have awareness ofthe chakras. Since body, mind and soul are intimately connected, awareness of an imblance in one area will help to bring the others back into balance.

    7 Chakra Energy Generator...Get Yours Today!



    The first three chakras, starting at the base of the spine are chakras of matter. They are more physical in nature.

    First Chakra

     The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security and basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder and the colon. When this chakra is open we feel safe and fearless. Muladhara is the first or root chakra.

    “I am always safe at the center of my being.”
    The first chakra begins at the base of the spine. The root chakra corresponds to the earth element and to the roots we’ve planted, how strong they are, how deep they are, and how supportive they are. It coincides with fundamental needs like food, water, shelter, home, and family.
    When in balance, we feel grounded, secure, and safe. 
    When out of balance, we feel insecure and anxious. We experience weight gain, depression, and stress.
    Location: Base of the spine 
    Color: Red 
    Element: Earth

    Second Chakra


    The Swadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for our creative expression. Swadhisthana is the second or sacral chakra.

    “I flow with the rhythms of life.”
    The sacral chakra corresponds to emotional and sexual energy in the body. Located in the lower abdomen, the sacral chakra coincides with the element of water, Like water, the sacral energy controls fluidity, versatility, and freedom, whether sexual, emotional, or creative. 
    When in balance, we feel creative and abundant with pleasure and fulfilling relationships.
    When out of balance, we feel emotionally unstable, sexual dysfunction, and lack creative energy. In the body, the sacral chakra connects with reproductive issues and lower back pain.
    Location: Above the pubic bone and below the navel (the sex organ area) 
    Color: Orange 
    Element: Water

    Third Chakra

    The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and it's the area from the navel to the breastbone. The third chakra is our source of personal power. It is also called the solar plexus chakra.

    “I stand in my personal power.”
    Located in the upper abdomen, the navel chakra coincides with self-esteem and asserting yourself. The chakra governs personal power and identity and connects to digestion and metabolism.
    When in balance, we feel confident with a sense of purpose and motivation. 
    When out of balance, we feel domineering or aggressive and have low self-esteem.
    Location: The navel area, from the solar plexus up to the breastbone 
    Color: Yellow 
    Element: Fire



    The connection between Matter and Spirit. Located at the heart center, the fourth chakra, Anahata is at the middle of the seven chakras and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The fourth chakra is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions and soul. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection. When we work through our physical chakras, or the first three, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.


    The Anahata, or heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materiality) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality).

    “I open my heart to fully living.”
    The three upper and three lower chakras connect in the center of the body at the heart chakra. The heart chakra corresponds with love, compassion, kindness, and harmonious relationships with ourselves and others.
    When in balance, we feel love, compassion, and forgiveness for ourselves and others.
    When out of balance, we feel unworthy, co-dependent, and disdainful. We may also experience high blood pressure or poor circulation.
    Location: Center of the chest (including the heart, lungs, and surrounding area) 
    Color: Green 
    Element: Air
    chakra meditation oracle
    Fifth Chakrafifth chakra

     The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. The fifth chakra inludes the neck, thyroid, and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue.

    “I follow and speak my truth.”
    The throat chakra relates to how we communicate and express ourselves. Because it represents the first of the upper, spiritual chakras, the lower four chakras must align for the throat chakra to balance.
    When in balance, we speak, listen, and express ourselves openly and authentically.
    When out of balance, we have difficulty expressing our needs and listening to others. We can develop a sore throat or neck and shoulder pain.
    Location: The throat 
    Color: Blue 
    Element: Space

    Sixth Chakra

    ajna chakraThe Ajna Chakra is located between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the "third eye" chakra. Ajna is our center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition, but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focusing on opening the sixth chakra will help you develop this ability.

    “I follow the path of truth and intuition.”
    The third-eye chakra sits at the top of the spine between the eyebrows and relates to how we connect the external world with our internal dialogue. 
    When balanced, we trust our intuition, release our ego, and develop strong inner wisdom.
    When out of balance, we become cynical and too attached to external circumstances. We may also have problems with headaches and vision.
    Location: The space between the eyebrows 
    Color: Indigo 
    Element: All

    Seventh Chakra

    seventh chakra


    The Sahaswara chakra or the "thousand petal lotus" chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enligthenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head.

    “There is only divine oneness.”
    Sahasrara is the final chakra that corresponds to the spiritual being. This chakra allows you to transcend the physical world for a divine experience.
    When in balance, we feel enlightened and a spiritual connection to our higher selves.
    When out of balance, our happiness depends on external conditions. We become hyper-sensitive and struggle to function.
    Location: Outside the body and hovering above the crown of the head 
    Color: Violet or White 
    Element: Cosmic Energy

    chakra healing book

    Chakra Healing Book


    Your Cart

    Your cart is currently empty.
    Click here to continue shopping.