Skip to main content

    Sacral Chakra - Svadhisthana

    "To give vent now and then to his feelings, whether of pleasure or discontent, is a great ease to a man's heart."  ~Francesco Guicciardini


    The sacral chakra is the second chakra. It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity. Its element is water and as such, its energy is characterized by flow and flexibility. The function of the sacral chakra is directed by the principle of pleasure. Let’s have a look at this energy center’s basics, including its location, color, symbol, potential signs of imbalance, and what to do heal your sacral chakra.

    The most common location for the sacral chakra is about three inches below the navel, at the center of your lower belly. In the back, it’s located at the level of the lumbar vertebrae. Other noteworthy locations described in different systems, expand its location to the genital area, especially at the level of ovaries for women and the testicles for men. It is associated with the lymphatic system.

    The symbol of the sacral chakra is composed of:
    • A circle with six petals
    • A moon crescent
    The circle represents the elements of water. Typically, the moon crescent is colored in silver and represents the connection of the energy of the moon with water. These symbols point to the close relationship between the phases of the moon and the fluctuations in the water and the emotions. Furthermore, the symbolism of the moon relates to the feminine menstrual cycle that takes the same number of days to complete and the connection of the sacral chakra with sexual organs and reproduction.
    The sacral chakra is associated with the following psychological and behavioral functions:
    • Emotions, feelings
    • Relationships, relating
    • Expression of sexuality, sensual pleasure
    • Feeling the outer and inner worlds
    • Creativity
    • Fantasies
    The sacral chakra is associated with the realm of emotions. It’s the center of our feelings and sensations. It’s particularly active in our sexuality and the expression of our sensual and sexual desires. Motivated by pleasure, it’s the driving force for the enjoyment of life through the senses, whether it’s auditory, through taste, touch, or sight. Opening your sacral chakra allows you to “feel” the world around and in us. As such, it’s an important chakra at the foundation of our feeling of well-being.
    discover your master chakra book

    The second chakra is instrumental in developing flexibility in our life. Associated with the water element, it’s characterized by movement and flow in our emotions and thoughts. It supports personal expansion and the formation of identity through relating to others and to the world.

    When the sacral chakra is balanced, the relationship with the world and other people is centered around nurturing, pleasure, harmonious exchange.
    Imbalance in the sacral chakra can manifest as:
    • Dependency, co-dependency with other people or a substance that grants you easy access to pleasure
    • Being ruled by your emotions
    • The opposite: Feeling numb, out of touch with yourself and how you feel
    • Overindulgence in fantasies, sexual obsessions
    • Or the opposite: Lack of sexual desire or satisfaction
    • Feeling stuck in a particular feeling or mood

    ​The most common Sanskrit name for the sacral chakra is Svadhisthana”which means “your own place”.

    The sacral chakra is most commonly represented with the color orange. However, since it’s associated with the element of water, it could also take the color of very light blue or white in more rare occasions. The orange of the second chakra is translucent and has a transparent quality.
    One of the most positive things about balancing sacral chakra is that all it really requires is for you to do more of what makes you happy. It’s doing all the simple things, dance and sing like no one’s watching or do simple exercises regularly like yoga or just go for a run.  

    Also try meditation and visualize the color orange, which is the sacral chakra’s color and most importantly ...let go. Learning to let go of unhealthy emotions, people and memories is crucial as you are letting go of your negative emotional baggage and making space and energy for better opportunities in life.

    Additionally there are specific yoga poses that can be carried out for those who wish to control this center of pleasure and passion and take action on their own. These poses include the "sun salutations"In essence, one has to go through all 12 poses to regain balance and make sure they are as centered as possible at all times. Usually it is recommended to perform these poses early in the morning after waking up for best effect. 

    Another method that can be applied would be to use acupressure. There are many rigid parts of the human body that tend to cause issues and it is recommended to use acupressure as a means to release this tension. With the help of the right techniques, acupressure can provide tremendous relief for those who are seeking out proper healing now and in the future.

    The mantra sound that corresponds to the sacral chakra is the sound VAM. By chanting VAM, the vibrations will open and align this chakra. The color for the second chakra is orange and the gemstones for this chakra are amber, calcite orange, carnelian, or hematite. Imagine a bright, healing orange glow filling up your entire lower abdomen. To heal a specific injury or disease in your body, focus on the specific part of your body and ‘send’ your breath and the colour orange to it.

    The mudra or hand gesture associate with the sacral chakra is called the Sakthi MudraWith your palms in front of your chest, press your pinky and ring fingertips together. Fold your thumbs into your palms, inside of your index and middle finger. You can then press the knuckles of these two fingers together (pictured) or keep them separate. This gesture can be used during meditation and to help with opening up the chakra.
    mudra cup

    Your Cart

    Your cart is currently empty.
    Click here to continue shopping.